The Stanley Vann Scholarship.


The scholarship is administered by the Incorporated Association of Organists.

Details of the scholarship and trust can be found here.

The first Stanley Vann Scholarship was awarded to Esther Jones in 2006.

Esther was Organ Scholar at University College, Oxford, where she read Music. As well as studying for a M.Mus degree in Choral Conducting at The Royal Academy of Music, Esther is currently Director of Music at Christ Church, Epsom Common; Editor of the Royal School of Church Music's journal "Church Music Quarterly", Assistant Conductor of the RSCM Millennium Youth Choir and the National Youth Choir of Great Britain, and a founder member of the vocal trio "Vox Angelica". She also directs The Esterhazy Singers.

The presentation was made by the I.A.O. President, Catherine Ennis, and the I.A.O. Council.

The 2007 Stanley Vann Scholar: Dr. Chris Anderson.

Chris is a physicist who is Director of Music at his local church. Despite not having formal musical qualifications, he has achieved commendable results. The award is made to allow Chris to attend the Intemediate Course of the Association of British Choral Directors.

The 2008 Stanley Vann Scholar: Simon Hogan.

Simon is a promising church musician who aspires to a cathedral music directorship. The award is made to help towards his studies at the Royal College of Music.

The 2009 Stanley Vann Scholar: Thomas Neal.

Thomas is organ scholar at a church in the north-east. He has already worked with a few choirs, and the award is made to help fund training and the exam for the Choir Masters' Diploma.

Update Oct 2010. Thomas is now an undergraduate at Clare College, Cambridge, where he is reading Music and is active as an organist, composer and conductor. Recent conducting engagements have included Brahms's Ein Deutsches Requiem with Collegium Vocale; Vaughan Williams's Serenade to Music with the Choral Scholars and Orchestra of Clare College; and orchestral works by Elgar, Sibelius, and Janacek. He is currently researching dissertations on Palestrina and Duruflé, and hopes to continue to postgraduate studies. (- Thanks for this, Thomas!)

The 2010 Stanley Vann Scholar: Hilary Campbell.

Hilary is a promising musician who already has an impressive C.V. She is a singer, choral conductor/trainer and composer, and has conducted the BBC Singers in a Master Class. The award is made to help her fund her studies in choral conducting at the Royal Academy of Music, and her composition.

The presentation of the award to Hilary was made at the Service of Thanksgiving for Stanley's life and music in Peterborough Cathedral by the Dean of Peterborough.

The 2011 Stanley Vann Scholar: James Wall.

The 2012 Stanley Vann Scholar: Helen Smee.

The 2013 Stanley Vann Scholar: David Todd.

The 2014 Stanley Vann Scholar: James Day.

James graduated with distinction from the Royal Academy of Music. He is director of Tiffin Boys’ Choir, Musical Director of the Pimlico Musical Foundation and Fulham Camerata.

The 2015 Stanley Vann Scholar: Tori Longden.

Tori obtained an MA with distinction in Choral Conducting from the Royal Academy of Music, where she was also awarded the Thomas Armstrong prize for the highest mark in a final recital. She is the regular conductor of the Lea Singers, Hertfordshire County Youth Choir and the Hanover Choir in London.

The 2016 Stanley Vann Scholar: Jonathan Schranz.

Having graduated with first class honours in Music at Churchill College, Cambridge, Jonathan is now studying Choral Conducting at the Royal Academy of Music. He is Organist and Musical Director at the Church of St John at Hackney, Conductor of Brentwood Choral Society and the Cappella Singers of Upminster.

If any scholar would like to send in an update, I would be very pleased to include his/her news on this page!

Return to Home Page